SO, I HEAR WE ARE IN A RECESSION…

Africa’s largest economy, Nigeria, has officially entered recession after two consecutive quarters of contraction.

Gross domestic product shrank by 2.06% in the second quarter of 2016, following a 0.36% shrinking in the first quarter, according to data released by the country’s National Bureau of Statistics.

-Business Insider UK; August 31, 2016

Things have been easier on us, to say the very least.I have witnessed the effect of this recession first-hand, so I know exactly how hard it is. Now, coupled with the scarcity of funds, we see a nation in apparent decline. Things do not seem to be getting any better. I mean, the on-the-rise terrorism, increase in the price of every single thing in multiple folds, the case of the ‘absent’ President, the seemingly utter lack of purpose in the leadership is nothing short of appalling, but that is not what I am here for.

In fact, I am here to just be done with that, all of that. I see it, but I know that it is temporary. I don’t know about you, but I AM DONE WITH THE NEGATIVITY!! It has not helped, so how about trying something different?

Now, I agree wholeheartedly that things are not  great. In fact, I agree that with Nigerians that this is not at all what we bargained for with the change in Government, but, It Is Well. However, this is not another article that aims to shame or praise the Government. I would just like us to take some time to look within ourselves, evaluate and learn through the struggle.It’s difficult, but it would be worth it.

In real life, what can we actually do to change things? Unfortunately, complaining day and night won’t do it, and as much as some of us would like to, a change in government less than 2 years in might not be the best thing either.

I found myself wondering what  lessons and attitudes we could take on this period we could learn from this period that would that if applied now, and even to the entirety of our lives would definitely be of help. Here are some of them, do let me know others:

Please, could we stop the whining and complaining??

bjmbjm.png
I know, I know, please stay with me here…

Things are difficult already as it is, and whining about it changes nothing. Trust me, as Queen of the kingdom of worrying and complaints (I am not proud of it, but it is kind of true), I am learning that they do not help… at all. If anything, they make matters worse for you and those around you. We need to move on from them.

vnhvhbn

All this Buhari did this, Ambode did not do that…E don do, e no epp!

It will have to be conscious if we are going to stop whining. It won’t just go away.  Play your role as a citizen. You think your input is irrelevant or that it can change nothing? Just look at Nelson Mandela, or Mahatma Gandhi, Salome Karwah Harris. Heck, just look at Donald Trump! These are people, just people, like you and I are. Do the very best you can, all will be well.

Stop with the comparison and try contentment.

I see them too… Those amazing people on Instagram and Snapchat who do not seem to be affected by the recession. It seems to be worse when it is someone we know (or knew) personally. This comparison also happens with countries and just like humans, we do not know what they went through to get to where they are.

yvhvyjgujhui

Even if they are doing ‘better’, and are younger than we are (I see you Dubai), and seem to put in much less work than we do, that is their journey. You have yours. I have mine.

We need to stop the comparison and be content with where we are as a country and as individuals. This does not mean that you should desire stagnancy, but as we work on our growth, we are thankful for what we have and work hard to be better as a people and individually.

.Be truly happy for those who are happy, yours is certain to come.  Agreed, it is a process, but it is one we could carry out because it works!

.nvhnn

Now, honestly, there would still be times when you’re still angry and you complain or compare. Its fine, we’re a work-in-progress. However, constantly doing that time and again is not for the best.

Be thankful, now and always.

 For the fact that we are still together as this great Nation, despite it all.

For the fact that you are even ALIVE to see this ‘recession’.

For the fact that you have food, shelter and clothing, no matter how big or small. Some people have little or none, appreciate the provision you have.

For the fact that you, yes, YOU, have the means to purchase data to read this blog 😉

For the fact that you are a Work-In-Progress, that when completed, would be beautiful, pleasing and perfect, because of the Spirit within you.

We should be grateful for the good things that do happen, no matter how ‘small’. Although the ‘major’ sector of oil has been hit,a few sectors like agricultural and solid minerals sectors have witnessed growth. Let’s be thankful for that!

Plus, according to this article, things are looking up!!

Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying. Rom 12: 12

Let’s try gratitude in words and more importantly, action.

Celebrate the littlest things, they are an under-utilized source of joy!

Speak life and think positively

Negative speaking never improved situations. Trust me, I have done that countless times and truthfully, it only makes things worse.

It is extremely, extremely difficult to speak to an ant to become a lion! However, all things are possible. Even when we find it hard to speak positively because of all the negativity, do so anyway. Just do. Why? Because it helps, it heals, it fortifies. It actually does, sometimes slowly, but it does. When we feel our thoughts are negative even though we want otherwise, we make a mental effort to focus on progressive thoughts and realize that faith is strengthened with time.

The tongue is too potent an organ to misuse or underutilize. Speak life, speak truth!

Pray, Believe and Trust the process.

Remember the popular Dettol commercial catch phrase, ‘If I don’t take care of myself, who will?’.

I have heard people my age basically saying Nigeria would amount to nothing, and that’s a bit myopic,don’t you think? A good number of people do not have the slightest belief in Nigeria, and it also happens that most times we don’t believe in ourselves too! We are being quite unfair to ourselves.

We do not think that our leaders would ever do the right thing or that we would even grow and develop as a Nation. Well, I beg to differ…

Now, if we, as Nigerians do not believe in Nigeria, who will? 

First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior-1 Tim 2: 1-3

Pray, pray, pray for your country and the people in charge. I know someone who stopped anything she was doing at 12pm everyday to say a minute of prayer for Nigeria.

To those who say, ‘If na prayer, Naija for don turn Dubai’, Bruh, do you know how things might be without our prayers?

blog26

The power in faith and prayer is so strong that our belief in ourselves, through God, no matter the situation, no matter what, who or when it happens, we would come out victorious.

Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours- Mark 11:24

Let’s just try. Will it hurt us? What would we lose? Let us try (and please, please keep trying) looking beyond what we can see, and believe in what we do not see now, but will see. The few times my strong-headed self has tried this, it has been amazing! Trust the process we are going through.

‘All things work together for the good of those who love Him, who are called according to His purpose for them’ (Romans 8:28).

Believe, with our thoughts, our words and our actions!!

The greater success stories are not of heirs of kingdoms, but are of people who fought through to become great, people who used unconventional means to set the pace.

Nigeria will be that success story.

You will be that success story.

I will be that success story.

But first… we need to PBT (Pray, Believe and Trust the process).

These tips are for me just as much as they are for you. I am a Work- In-Progress, far (very laughable distance, in fact) from completion. However, I have seen them work for people and myself, too.

Writing this has definitely made me realize that I really need to take my own advice and practice what I preach. Its a lot easier to give than take advice, isn’t it? Well, I am beginning to work on the latter. Wish me luck!

I believe in God.

I believe in Nigeria.

I believe in You.

bn-nb-jmn
Not to worry, much sooner than later, this will be You and I. All happy, excited and stuff!!

Thank you so much for reading, now and always.. I know I have not said anything ‘new’, this is just a reminder to tell us that all will be fine, and encourage us to become better people. I hope this has touched you in some way.

We can do this!! God bless you.

What do you think? How good or bad has the recession been to you? Something you disagree with? More tips for practice? Let’s know in the comments!

Bring the fun over here!!
Instagram: @desireuba

Pinterest: Desire Uba

LinkedIn: Desire Uba

VENI, VIDI, AMAVI.

Desire.

7 thoughts on “SO, I HEAR WE ARE IN A RECESSION…

  1. We sure have a genius here. Your write-ups are deep and incisive. You really are for signs and wonders. Do remember that you are a pharmacist and an ‘A’ pharmacist at that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

