2016: A YEAR OF EMOTIONS

 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

My previous post received so much love, I was honestly so overwhelmed. Thank you so much to everyone who read, liked, commented or shared. God bless you immensely. It means so much to me.

This period is usually one of reflection, remembrance and resolution. I believe it is ultimately important to do this, as it breathes in a new life to your already beautiful self to make you more radiant.

P.S. I still have no idea what I am doing or what exactly this blog is to me, but I just know what God has in store for me through this blog, but I can feel within myself that I ought to do this and I absolutely love it.

As the title says, 2016 was a year of discovery, within myself. I got in touch with my emotional being more than ever, and thinking about it makes me realize that I would not have had it any other way.

I have learnt so much and became so much than I ever have. I hope to write about this in detail eventually. Please sit tight, this would be a long one. I know these might be cliche, but take it from an average Nigerian girl, they are actually true. Some of the major lessons I learnt and I know would be useful in 2017 include;

Dream big, no matter what! You win some, you lose some

Believe me, I have had my share of trial and failure, even though it might not be as many as yours. With the little struggles I have been through this year, and watching others go through varying levels of tussles in life, I have learnt that dreams are never, ever too big. You might not have conquered all of it, but you owe yourself the trial.

This year, I tried to achieve some goals I did not quite accomplish. I was so disappointed at these times, but looking back, I obtained other things I did not expect. Some might not seem to be as ‘great’ as the initial goals, but let us celebrate the victories we did have, minute or gigantic.

You dream, you believe, and then you work. You work, and then you achieve.

Time does not heal, only God can

Watching myself and people close to me, I know that hurt truly exists in different forms, and it requires healing. I know that they say time heals, but does it? Does it make the pain go away? I humbly beg to differ.

This can truly happen only when we truly forgive the person or force that hurt us and let it go, only the God in Us can do that. I am very sure of that.

When we let God, we forgive, we let go of the pain, of the hurt, of the thoughts, and we move forward to be better and happier.

356eab9df0a30760c2071e3222713e07

Its okay to cry

I am team #NoCry any time, any day. I just hate the sight of people crying, I used to think it was an unnecessary evil. I just thought, ‘Why do you need to excrete so much salt and water from your eyes when you can just… not do that?’ I just did not get it.

This past year however, I realized that it is okay to cry. I finally understood that it is a point of release, for joy, sadness, anger or even fear. It could be a step to healing. If you are like how I was, I want you to know that it is actually okay, or even needed at times.

I still don’t understand the excess cry-ers though, like the ones that cry for Korean movies.

A Smile does wonders

This year ehn, Just Smile.

At the Supermarket/ Filling station attendant that has just annoyed you.

At your lecturer.

At the lady that cleans your hostel.

At the local buns seller you come across while walking to buy airtime recharge cards.

At your friend during a presentation gone bonkers.

At yourself.

At the madness that is the life we live.

It is an underutilized source of joy, tested and proven, trust me. It is so therapeutic.

Believe, always believe

In your parents and siblings.

In yourself.

In Nigeria.

In the people that ask you to.

In God.

Does that guarantee that people let you down? Nope. It guarantees that you would never give up, and you would live a much happier life in the long run as  people will hold the keys to your joy. It guarantees that all things are possible.

religious-quotes-believe-3

Never, ever, ever settle for less

You and I are worth so much more than we can ever imagine. There is no need to belittle ourselves to thinking we deserve less. Even though I stumble, even when I fall, I am still Desire Uba. Even when I make the dumbest mistakes humanly possible, I still have the same potential I had while standing, I have the same dreams, I have the same power, most importantly I still have the same God, biko, why should I settle?

What I can do is take small, right steps to get to my destination, but I will not change my destination. Mbanu!

I do not think you should either. You know why, because you will get there. There is a Power so much greater then you and I that will take us there.

Self-love, self-love, self-love

This year I went from mot liking myself to loving myself so much, and with that my whole perspective changed.

I thought loving myself was something that should come automatically, I mean, why shouldn’t I?  However, sometimes you lose it, and it really messes with you. Externally, you might look just fine, but within, you are a mess, and that is a problem.

The best thing I did for myself was to ACCEPT IT. I had gone from 100 to 0 in confidence and self-love levels but I had refused to embrace it. When I did, I went to the only source that we would ever need, God Almighty. He took me through the process, and he is still taking me. You are welcome to join me.

maxresdefault

Let us look to 2017 with vigour, strength and hope.

I hope we continually have peace, joy and love.

I hope we do not settle for less.

I hope we understand that you have God’s love always.

2017 is going to be our best year yet!!!!

Thank you so much for reading.

VENI, VIDI, AMAVI.

Desire.

8 thoughts on “2016: A YEAR OF EMOTIONS

    • Hi Kachee,
      I am so giddy right now!! Thank you so much for reading, and also for the compliments.
      I just realized in 2016 that crying could be a source of reilef.
      Amen to your prayers.
      Cheers to an amazing year ahead!!

      Like

  1. Town crier! This year would be filled with smiles punctuated with tears of hearty laughter. Have an amazing year Captain.

    Like

Leave a comment